Portsmouth, VA Motorcycle Laws
In addition to the traffic laws that apply to all motor vehicles, the state has also established laws that apply specifically to motorcycles. These rules are meant to ensure that motorcycles are operated safely and with due consideration for operators, passengers, and other people on the road.
Failing to follow Portsmouth, VA motorcycle laws can have significant consequences in both criminal and civil contexts. If you would like more information about what laws apply to motorcyclists in this area and how these regulations might impact civil recovery following an accident, consider scheduling a meeting with an attorney at Cooper Hurley Injury Lawyers.
Licensing Requirements for Motorcyclists
One of the most significant laws for motorcyclists in Portsmouth, VA, is the requirement of a motorcycle license. Under Virginia Code §46.2-328(C), anyone who wishes to operate a motorcycle on public roads must apply for and receive an endorsement to do so on his or her state driver’s license.
According to Virginia Code §46.2-337, a person seeking a motorcycle license must complete both a written test and a road test for the specific type of motorcycle he or she wishes to operate. A 30-day temporary motorcycle license is automatically granted to anyone 19 years of age or older who, when receiving a standard state driver’s license, presents proof that they have completed a motorcycle safety course administered by either a licensed provider or a provider approved by the U.S. Armed Services.
License Plates for Motorcycles
Once a motorcycle rider has acquired the proper license and title for his or her motorcycle from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, his or her must affix a DMV-provided license plate to the back of the bike in accordance with Virginia Code §46.2-715. As per Virginia Code §46.2-716, this plate must be secured so that it does not swing freely, and it must be clearly visible and legible. No frame, mounting, colored glass or plastic, or other covering may obscure the plate’s alpha-numeric information, color, state name, or registration sticker.
Rules for Motorcycle Operation
As pursuant Virginia Code §46.2-909, operators of two-wheeled motorcycles generally must remain seated upon their vehicle’s permanently attached seat at all times while the motorcycle is in motion, and they may not carry a passenger except upon a permanently attached passenger seat with associated footrests. While two motorcyclists are permitted to ride next to each other in a single lane of traffic under, lane-splitting—riding between two motor vehicles occupying adjacent lanes of traffic—is against the law in Portsmouth and throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
With almost no exceptions, every motorcyclist must wear an approved safety helmet at all times while a motorcycle is in motion in accordance with Virginia Code §46.2-910. This section of state law also requires motorcyclists to wear safety glasses, safety goggles, or a face shield if their motorcycle does not have a windshield or safety glass installed in front of the driver’s seat.
A Portsmouth, VA Attorney Could Clarify Motorcycle Laws Further
Under normal circumstances, a motorcyclist who violates a traffic law may receive a ticket and have to contend with the associated penalties and license-related sanctions. However, if someone injured in a motorcycle accident fails to obey applicable traffic rules prior to their wreck, he or she may be unable to recover civil compensation for their injuries.
Anyone with further questions about Portsmouth, VA motorcycle laws should reach out to a seasoned lawyer for more information. Call today to schedule your free case consultation.