Close this search box.

What Is the Virginia Statute of Limitations for Personal injury?

According to Virginia law, statute of limitations means that a person who is injured in a car accident must file a lawsuit or settle their case within a certain time period. Otherwise, you may lose your chance of being awarded any recovery, making it vitally important to consult with an experienced car accident lawyer who will understand the statute of limitations and pursue the case accordingly. The attorneys at Cooper Hurley Injury Lawyers can help you make sure you are filing your claim within the necessary time limits. With our help, you can have the best chance of bringing a successful claim.

What Is the Statute of Limitations in Virginia Beach?

In Virginia, the statute of limitations is normally two years from the date of your accident. There are various minor adjustments and allowances that may apply, but two years from the date of the accident is typically the statute of limitations. Therefore, it is important to reach out to an attorney as soon as possible after an accident.

Time Limits for Minors

A minor in Virginia is anyone under the age of 18. In the case of a minor, the statute of limitations will begin when that minor turns 18 years old. For example, if a 16-year-old is injured in a car accident, they will have two years from the day they turn 18 to file any type of lawsuit if the case has not settled.

People With Disabilities

The statute of limitations for someone with disabilities will vary depending on what their disability is and how long they will be disabled for. A seasoned injury lawyer could calculate the statute of limitations that would apply based on the specific circumstances.

What Happens if the Car Accident Trial Goes Beyond the Time Limits?

If your accident injury case does not settle, you need to file a lawsuit within the statute of limitations. Even if the life of the case extends beyond the statute of limitations, you are still entitled to a trial since your lawsuit was properly filed within the statute of limitations.

Provided you filed the lawsuit before the statute of limitations expired, you are entitled to any and all damages for your injuries. In Virginia Beach, the most common damages are medical bills, lost wages, wages that you may not be able to earn in the future, and pain and suffering. An attorney can further explain the process of filing a claim.

An Attorney Can Help You Understand the Virginia Beach Car Accident Statute of Limitations

When you or a loved one is significantly injured in a motor vehicle accident in Virginia Beach, it is critically important to retain an experienced personal injury lawyer who will be aware of all the nuances of the statutes of limitations and how the statute of limitations can vary for each case. To discuss how the statute of limitations will affect your Virginia Beach car accident case, call Cooper Hurley Injury Lawyers today for a free consultation.

Hurt in an accident?
Let us fight for you

Related Articles